A Contemporary Jazz Opera 


"... Perhaps everybody has a garden of Eden, I don't know; but they have scarcely seen their garden before they see the flaming sword. Then, perhaps, life only offers the choice of remembering the garden or forgetting it."  

James Baldwin


Set in a world dominated by the norms of mass consumption and immediate gratification, an eight- year-old digital native finds a toy that lives in tangible form.  Much to her content, her guardian purchases the toy and asks for LeeLaH to do one thing; wait until morning to unwrap her shiny mystery.  But night can be a long time for a young girl ready to discover the wonders that lie beneath the plastic exterior.


LeeLaH is a contemporary jazz opera originally commissioned by the Jazzorchester Vorarlberg in the beautiful countryside of Austria. Composition and Arrangement by Vincent Pongrácz and book by Renee Benson. Played by a 13 piece orchestra and 1 vocalist (Sister Raie - US), LeeLaH pleasantly disrupts the audience’s expectation to deliver a vibrant symphonic delight bridging classical, hip hop, jazz and more into one cohesively sound experience.




Renee Benson

Vincent Pongrácz

Jazzorchester Vorarlberg